3nd International Workshop on Traffic Measurements for Cybersecurity
(WTMC 2018)

logo logo_sig logo_acm

Budapest, Hungary
August 20-24, 2018

Computers and open communication networks have become increasingly interwoven with our daily lives and have profoundly changed our societies. While this has signicantly increased people's well being, our growing dependence on an increasingly pervasive, complex, and ever evolving network infrastructures also poses a wide range of cybersecurity risks with potentially large socio-economic impacts. From this perspective, network trafficc measurements and monitoring have become a crucial line of research. It enables to enhance our understanding of cybersecurity threats and use this knowledge to further develop new ways to detect and mitigate them.

Network traffic measuring and monitoring can, for example, enable the analysis of the spreading of malicious software and its capabilities or can help to understand the nature of various network threats including those that exploit users’ behavior and other user’s sensitive information. On the other hand network traffic investigation can also help to assess the effectiveness of the existing countermeasures or contribute to building new, better ones. Recently, traffic measurements have been utilized in the area of economics of cybersecurity e.g. to assess ISP “badness” or to estimate the revenue of cyber criminals.

The aim of this workshop is to bring together the research accomplishments provided by the researchers from academia and the industry. The other goal is to show the latest research results in the field of cybersecurity and understand how traffic measurements can influence it. We encourage prospective authors to submit related distinguished research papers on the subject of both: theoretical approaches and practical case reviews. This workshop presents some of the most relevant ongoing research in cybersecurity seen from the traffic measurements perspective.

The workshop will be accessible to both non-experts interested in learning about this area and experts interesting in hearing about new research and approaches.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to the following:

  • Measurements for network incidents response, investigation and evidence handling
  • Measurements for network anomalies detection
  • Measurements for economics of cybersecurity
  • Network traffic analysis to discover the nature and evolution of the cybersecurity threats
  • Measurements for assessing the effectiveness of the threats detection/prevention methods and countermeasures
  • Novel passive, active and hybrid measurements techniques for cybersecurity purposes
  • Traffic classification and topology discovery tools for monitoring the evolving status of the network from the cybersecurity perspective
  • Correlation of measurements across multiple layers, protocols or networks for cybersecurity purposes
  • Machine learning and data mining for analysis of network traffic measurements for cybersecurity
  • Novel approaches for large-scale crowd-sourcing measurements for cybersecurity
  • Novel visualization approaches to detect network attacks and other threats
  • Analysis of network traffic to provide new insights about network structure and behavior from the security perspective
  • Measurements of network protocol and applications behavior and its impact on cybersecurity and users' privacy
  • Measurements related to network security and privacy
  • Ethical issues in measurements for cybersecurity


Papers will be accepted based on peer review (3 per paper) and should contain original, high quality work. All papers must be written in English. Authors are invited to submit regular papers (maximum 6 pages) via the workshop submission page HotCRP. Papers must be single-spaced, double-column, 10pt font format. Authors are encouraged to use the latest ACM SIGCOMM template, that can be found at the ACM SIG Proceedings website. Failure to adhere to the page limit and formatting requirements will be grounds for rejection. Submission of a paper implies that should the paper be accepted, at least one of the authors will register and present the paper in the conference.

Papers describing cybersecurity measurement studies should include an ethical considerations paragraph, and where applicable reach out to their institutional ethics committee or institutional review board. For guidance see the Menlo Report and its companion document.

Papers accepted by the workshop will be published in the Conference Proceedings published by ACM SIGCOMM. The extended versions of all accepted papers will be considered for publication in a special issue of the Journal of Cyber Security and Mobility (confirmed). The decision will depend on the quality of the paper and quality of the presentation at WTMC 2018. The final decision will be made by co-chairs after the workshop.


March 18, 2018: Paper Submission Deadline
April 30, 2018: Notification Date
May 24, 2018: Camera-Ready Paper Deadline


Workshop chairs:

Maciej Korczyński, Grenoble Institute of Technology, France
Wojciech Mazurczyk, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland
Pedro Casas, AIT Austrian Institute of Technology GmbH, Austria

Steering committee:

Kensuke Fukuda, National Institute of Informatics, Japan
Michel van Eeten, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands




WTMC 2017

WTMC 2016